Free to Bloom

IMG_4811

I was pruning my roses this morning when I noticed something amazing-a new branch, full of buds that had shot up just in the last couple of weeks.

So why would I think a rose bush growing (gasp) roses is an amazing feat?  You see, a couple of weeks ago I was pruning these same rose bushes when I discovered something disturbing hidden in the foliage.

It was a wasp’s nest, nestled deep in the branches and hidden by pretty blooms.  My initial reaction was to back up, leave it alone and move on.

I did exactly that and kept on with my pruning and watering, but I couldn’t help feeling a little anxious.  I knew I couldn’t just leave that swarming wasps nest there.  It’s certainly not good for the roses, and it’s right alongside our driveway where our kids play.  Chances are if I leave that nest alone, it will only get bigger, and eventually we may have a problem on our hands.  I decided that I needed to take care of that nest then and there.

So here we are, a few short weeks later, and in that spot where there was potential danger, there is beautiful new foliage and several promising buds.   I started thinking how awesome God is, that where bad was removed, good now thrives.  This thought followed: what in my life do I need to prune?  We all desire beauty and purpose in our lives.  What is it that stands in the way of the beauty and purpose you desire in your life?

Maybe there is something you’ve struggled with for so long you’ve concluded it’s easier to just cover it up, ignore it, fake it, hide it beneath pretty blooms.  But we can only do that for so long.  Eventually those swarming wasps will make themselves known.

IMG_4810

There can also be those tired, stale blooms keeping us from cultivating the new buds.  Whether it’s from fear of the unknown, feelings of obligation, the discomfort of starting something new, or just plain laziness, it’s easy to stall change, and much more difficult to trust and walk into the unknown out of obedience.  I have experienced all of these emotions rising to the surface recently as I’ve been starting this blog!  But seeing those new buds thriving today made me want to prune off the fear and laziness that are tripping me up. God wants to carry these things for me, so I can have my hands free to embrace the new season and all of its blessings.  I do not know what it will look like, and I’m almost sure it will look different than I expect, but I know Jesus.  He loves us and he blesses obedience.

What could be standing in the way of your new bloom?  Ask the Lord what it is that you need to prune from your life, and BE BRAVE.  Walk in obedience and sow seeds of prayer, remembering God’s promise: he prunes so that [you] will be even more fruitful…this is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit.” John 15: 2, 8 NLT

7 thoughts on “Free to Bloom

  1. I’m so glad you are doing this! I always love hearing God speak through you to me and this definitely did that! Thanks for always being bold and following what God is calling you to do!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

