Do You Know Him?

So, do you know Him?  I thought I did.  For years I answered yes to this question, convincing others and convincing myself.

I grew up in church, hearing about Jesus every week.  He was my savior, of course he was!  I had answered the altar call, said the prayer, been baptized, lived a moral life.  I believed.

But one day many years ago when I felt helpless in my circumstances, wondering if this was all there was to life, I began to question my own faith.  Do I really KNOW Him?  Or do I just know ABOUT Him?

I asked God to show me what I was missing, and I felt His love overtake me for the first time.  I knew about his love, sure, but to FEEL it, surrender to it–this was completely different.  An experience words cannot describe.

Jeremiah 2913

He opened my eyes to who He is, and what it means to be His child.  Being a Christian it isn’t all about living a do-good life filled with blessings for me to enjoy like I had previously thought.  That’s the world’s version–a watered down replacement.  Being a Christian is knowing Jesus, having an intimate, personal relationship with our creator and savior.

So you may be wondering, how in the world can I have a relationship with someone I can’t see or hear?

Here are some things that have helped me become acquainted with God:

  • I talk to Him.  Sometimes it’s in my mind and other times I’ll speak out loud, like when I pray.  I don’t make it formal or weird-I talk to him like I talk to my husband or a friend, sharing what’s on my heart.
  • I listen.  God still speaks!  It’s hard to hear because our lives are noisy.  If I intentionally get away from distractions, TV, my phone, and focus my mind on God, he is there, and he often has something to say.
  • I read my Bible.  Sometimes (many times) I can only read one verse per day, but even if I only read a little bit, God uses it to speak to me.  The YouVersion app has a verse of the day that automatically comes up on your home screen, making it really easy.

At first, doing these things felt awkward and took discipline; sometimes they still do.  But God promises: If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me –Jeremiah 29:13 (NLT).

So, do you know him?  I hope so.  If you have any doubt, start seeking him.  He’ll be there.

3 thoughts on “Do You Know Him?

Leave a Reply

