Bugs and Bleed Through

I’m loving my new white kitchen, but I have a secret to share with you: my newly painted cabinets aren’t perfect.  I have tiny spots of bleed-through, a few drips here and there, and even a couple of spots where some bugs flew into the wet paint and left their mark!

As much as I would love for my cabinets to be perfect, that’s just not realistic.  Life (and bugs) happen.

Bug detail
BOOO!!

So I don’t drive myself absolutely nuts I’ve had to adjust my perspective on my cabinets so that I’m not hyper-focused on the imperfections.  Don’t get me wrong-I went crazy when I saw the first signs of bleed-through on my new crisp white paint:

DSC_1158

I obsessed and worried that it would ruin the whole paint job.  With a sense of dread in my stomach, I spent two hours frantically “researching” online about bleed through.  Really I was just looking for proof that my fears were going to come true and I would have red spots showing up everywhere (thankfully that didn’t happen).

Now, months later, when I discover (or rediscover) a spot, I stand back a few feet and look at the big picture, which is pretty white cabinets, and I’m thankful for the change:

DSC_1175

DSC_1160

Ahhh.  Much better.

Sometimes I need this perspective shift in other areas of my life. If your life is anything like mine, it’s not perfect-no matter how much I wish it so or try to make it appear that way. But I have a decision to make. When things aren’t perfect, how am I going to react?  Will I worry & obsess?  Grumble & complain?  Or will I adjust my perspective, and thank God for the things I can thank Him for, even when some things aren’t going the way I want?  Will I extend grace to the people that are acting like a bug in my new paint, keeping in mind that everyone has imperfections (even MOI-and I sure don’t want anyone focusing on my flaws!)

Is there something in your life that you’ve been disappointed, worried or maybe even a little frantic about?  Friend, there is a way to find peace today: try thanking Him.

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything.  Tell God what you need, and thank Him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand.  His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:6-7 NLT

4 thoughts on “Bugs and Bleed Through

  1. Love this! I love the before and after shots and I love that I have seen it in person and don’t see the imperfections. Just like our friendship!!

    Like

  2. Christy, this is an excellent reminder about remaining thankful even when life doesn’t measure up to my desires or expectations. I guess you’d say thankfulness is an emotional insecticide:)

    Thank you for the stimulating devotional thoughts.
    Brenda L

    Like

Leave a Reply

