When Change is Hard

Change can be beautiful.  The glowing red and orange leaves of autumn are proof of the beauty that comes with transition.

IMG_7259

Change can also be hard.  Winter comes after the vibrant fall display, and trees go from being wrapped in fiery glory to bare and void of color.

IMG_7246

I was reflecting on this during my jog yesterday, admiring God’s stunning display as I ran through the trees, and I felt Him speaking to my heart and acknowledging the struggles I’ve been having lately.  I am smack-dab in the middle of a season of transition and while I’m excited about the new season coming my way, right now I’m facing the letting go.

Like a tree losing its leaves, I have felt stripped.  I have had days of being sad and feeling empty.  It has been tempting to cling to my beloved, familiar leaves, holding onto the things that have brought me joy and fulfillment these past few years.

People I love that I won’t see as often.

Projects I’ve poured my heart, time and creative self into, that I won’t be able to pursue in the same way.

Volunteer positions I won’t have time for, places I’ve been able to love on and invest in others, and I’ve been loved on and invested in as well.

All of these have been gifts from God.  I’m thankful for the season I had.

They have been rich, rewarding and fulfilling, not because of me, but because it was where God wanted me.  God’s anointing and life was there. If I cling to the blessings when the Blesser is moving me somewhere new, I may be able to make it work for a while.  I’ll have to hold on really, really tight, because He tends to make things uncomfortable when he’s moving us and we aren’t getting the message.  But if I hang on, eventually I’ll be like the trees we see with dead leaves clinging to the wintery branches past their season.  The life is no longer there.

So I’m working on releasing these things to the Lord, the things I’ve loved so dearly these past few years.  I choose to cling to my source, even when things are unfamiliar and uncomfortable.  It may feel sad and barren right now, but God is doing something new in my life.  He has already begun it.

For I am about to do something new.  See, I have already begun!  Do you not see it?  I will make a pathway through the wilderness.  I create rivers in the dry wasteland.  Isaiah 43:19 NLT

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

